New Jersey DUI Lawyer: Penalties for a Third DUI Conviction in New Jersey
In New Jersey, the penalties an individual faces for a second DUI conviction are steeper than those they faced for their first DUI conviction. In turn, the penalties a third DUI charge are steeper than those imposed for their second. An individual’s third DUI conviction has the steepest penalties possible for a DUI conviction in New Jersey. If an individual is charged with a DUI for a fourth or subsequent offense, they are subject to the same penalties they faced for the third offense – in theory. In practice, an individual could only be charged with DUI for a fourth or subsequent time while their license is suspended for their third conviction, which means that they will face the penalties for driving with a suspended driver’s license as well as those for a DUI. This is because third offense DUI only counts as one’s third offense if it occurs within 10 years of their second conviction.
It is possible to fight a DUI charge to have it lowered or even dropped. If you have been charged with DUI in Cherry Hill, contact an experienced DUI lawyer as soon as possible to start working on your legal defense strategy.
What Are the Penalties for a Third Offense DUI in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, an individual who is convicted of a DUI for the third time faces the following penalties:
- Mandatory installation of an ignition interlock device on their vehicle for one to three years following the end of their driver’s license suspension
- 180 days in jail
- A fine of up to $1,000
- Mandatory completion of an in-patient alcohol rehabilitation program
- Automobile insurance surcharge of $1,500 per year for three years
- A 10-year driver’s license suspension
- A fee to be paid to the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
Cherry Hill DUI Lawyer Michele Finizio Can Help You Fight Your DUI Charge
If you have been charged with a DUI in South Jersey or have another traffic violation charge, consider fighting the charge with an experienced New Jersey DUI lawyer. Fill out our online form or call 609-230-0374 to schedule your initial legal consultation with the Law Offices of Michele Finizio in our Moorestown, New Jersey office. We work with clients from Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Salem County and can help you defend your case against a DUI charge.