Free Consultation: 856.888.9059

What Are the Penalties for Sexual Assault?

sexual assault defense lawyer

Sexual assault crimes are taken very seriously in the state of New Jersey. In today’s blog, we take a look at what sexual assault consists of, the penalties associated with this particular type of crime and how an experienced criminal defense attorney can defend the charges against you. 

What is Sexual Assault?

Sexual assault refers to being attacked in a sexual manner. Because of how broad this term is, each state may have their own definition of sexual assault. While some states may consider sexual assault to be any type of sexual behavior that doesn’t have consent (i.e. rape, criminal sexual contact or criminal sexual penetration) other states may simply refer to it as rape. In the state of New Jersey, sexual assault is another term for rape. 

You can be charged with sexual assault if:

  • The victim is under your control
  • The victim is between the ages of 13-16 and you are four years older
  • The victim is between the ages of 16-18 and related to you

Aggravated Sexual Assault

While aggravated sexual assault still consists of many of the same factors as those mentioned above, it can also include: 

  • The victim is 13 years or younger
  • Another person is involved in committing the sexual assault
  • The sexual assault takes place during aother crime
  • The victim is handicapped or incapacitated
  • The sexual assault involves a weapon

Penalties for Sexual Assault in New Jersey

In New Jersey, sexual assault is considered to be a second-degree offense which is punishable by five to ten years in prison, in addition to a $150,000 fine. Aggravated sexual assault is considered to be a first- degree offense and is punishable by 10 to 20 years in prison and a monetary fine of up to $200,000. 

If you are facing sexual assault charges, don’t delay calling an experienced criminal defense attorney for a consultation.

Contact an Experienced Moorestown Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Sexual Assault Charges in New Jersey

Were you arrested or charged with a sexual assault offense in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The attorneys at Law Offices of Michele Finizio have successfully represented clients charged with sexual assault in Evesham Township, Mount Laurel, Willingboro, Pemberton and throughout New Jersey. Call (856) 242-7300 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 9 E. Main St., Moorestown, NJ 08057, as well as offices located in Cherry Hill.

The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.

Thank you!

Someone from our office will contact you shortly

I could not have asked for a better attorney. Michele Finizio treated my cases and the cases of those I've recommended, as if we were part of her family.

-D.A.