If you have ever been pulled over by a cop, you know that they will often ask you for proof of insurance. In the state of New Jersey if you fail to present valid proof of insurance you will be facing some very harsh penalties as the state is fairly strict about insurance coverage in comparison to other parts of the country. We will detail the different offenses for driving without insurance in New Jersey and the penalties that come with each in the following paragraphs.
What Are the Rules?
It’s pretty simple: in order to drive in New Jersey you must have a standard or basic auto insurance policy. If you are caught driving without insurance, you will have to pay fines, surcharges and depending on the severity, may even face jail time, community service and have your license suspended.
If you are charged with driving without insurance, the municipal court will want proof of an insurance plan that covers the date when the incident occured. If the defendant cannot provide this proof then it is a rebuttable presumption and shows they were not insured at the time of the offense.
Someone who is caught for the first time driving without insurance may face the following penalties:
- $300-1,000 in fines
- Driver’s license suspension for an one year
- Community service that will be decided by the court
- Yearly surcharge of $250 for three years
Additionally, If you don’t show insurance within 24 hours of the citation then your car will be impounded. If this is the case, then you will be charged $100 to get it back and you must provide insurance.
The penalties for second time and subsequent offenders are much harsher. These include:
- $500-5,000 in fines
- Driver’s license suspension for at least 2 years
- Court may assign up to 180 hours of community service
- Points added to your new jersey license which will make it more difficult to get affordable insurance rates
Finally, in order to get a driver’s license reinstated the individual must apply to the DMV and the director will see how likely it is that the driver will be caught for a third time. The director has the right to refuse an application.
What Should You Do?
If you have been caught driving without insurance in New Jersey you may be feeling overwhelmed. There are many harsh penalties that will make your daily life more difficult. It’s easy to feel hopeless and frustrated but there is something you can do – get an attorney! Getting legal help is the best thing you can do in this type of situation.
Contact an Experienced Moorestown Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Driving Without Insurance Charges in Moorestown NJ
Were you arrested or charged with driving without insurance in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The Law Office of Michele Finizio has successfully represented clients charged with driving without insurance in Moorestown, Cherry Hill, Evesham Township, Burlington, and throughout New Jersey. Call (856) 888-9059 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 9 E. Main St, Moorestown, NJ 08057, as well as offices located in Cherry Hill.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.
Disorderly conduct consists of any improper behavior such as fighting, threats of violence, or creating a dangerous atmosphere.