Theft & Burglary Attorneys in Maple Shade, NJ
South Jersey Criminal Lawyers Represent Clients Charged with Theft, Burglary & Robbery in Camden County and Burlington County, New Jersey
When you are charged with a property crime such as theft, burglary, or robbery, you could face serious, irreversible consequences. Any of these charges can result in incarceration, restitution, fines, and a permanent criminal record.
New Jersey criminal defense attorney Michele Finizio can assist you throughout this difficult process. She has handled numerous matters throughout the Cherry Hill, NJ area and has appeared in criminal courts throughout South Jersey, including Camden, Gloucester Township, Voorhees, Evesham, Willingboro, and Washington Township, New Jersey. Contact Attorney Finizio now to discuss your theft crime charges.
Burglary Charges in New Jersey
Burglary can occur in several different forms. In most cases, burglary is considered any unlawful entry into a structure with the intent to commit a crime. This can happen at both private residences and businesses. The intent to commit, or the act of committing, a crime, regardless of whether it is theft, is classified as a burglary.
Moreover, burglary does not have to involve breaking and entering. Burglary can also happen when someone trespasses illegally. More specifically, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 2C:18-2, you may be charged and convicted of third degree burglary if you have:
- Entered a structure without privilege;
- Surreptitiously remained in the structure knowing that you are not licensed or privileged to be there; and
- Intended to commit any offense while entering the structure – a structure being considered any enclosed section, such as a warehouse, home, or car.
Second degree burglary is considered to have all the components of third degree burglary, but it will also include:
- The threat or actual bodily harm of someone; and
- The presence or appearance of a weapon.
Depending on the degree of burglary with which you are charged, a conviction is punishable by incarceration of 3-10 years in prison. If you have been charged with burglary, contact Camden County burglary attorney Michele Finizio as soon as possible to defend against the charges.
Theft Charges & Penalties in NJ
Theft in New Jersey is defined as the unlawful taking of another’s property with the intent to deprive the owner of its use. Theft can consist of varying actions, including the stealing of money or items from a store, stealing someone’s personal property, or stealing controlled substances. Theft also covers criminal acts like embezzlement, extortion, identity theft, and obtaining merchandise under false pretenses. Depending on the degree of theft charged, a conviction can be punishable by incarceration for anywhere from six (6) months to 10 years and fines of up to $150,000, which may not include restitution.
N.J.S.A. 2C:20-3 defines the degrees of theft in terms of the value of the stolen property:
- A disorderly persons offense consists of any theft of property worth less than $200.
- Fourth degree theft is any taking of articles worth between $200 and $500.
- Third degree theft is the taking of any property worth between $500 and $75,000.
- Second degree theft is the taking of any property worth $75,000 or more and carries the greatest level of fines, restitution, and prison terms.
Other factors determine the degree of theft charges, so it is imperative that you seek legal representation by a knowledgeable theft crime attorney to defend against the potentially severe consequences.
Robbery Charges in New Jersey
The criminal offense of Robbery is considered the forceful taking of another’s property. Robbery often involves the use of weapons, which makes the robbery a more serious crime and may be considered an aggravating factor for sentencing. According to N.J.S.A. 2C:15-1, you can be charged with second degree robbery if you have:
- Committed or attempted to commit a theft;
- Inflicted bodily injury, used force, threatened a victim with bodily injury, or committed or threatened to commit an immediate crime; and
- Purposely acted to commit this crime.
Second degree robbery is punishable by incarceration of 5-10 years in state prison.
You can be charged with first degree robbery, which is a more serious crime that is punishable by incarceration of 10-20 years in prison, if you have committed all of the components of second degree robbery and any of the following:
- Attempted to kill someone;
- Purposely inflicted serious bodily injury; or
- Were either armed or threatened the use of a deadly weapon.
If you are charged with robbery, Camden County criminal lawyer Michele Finizio will put together a defense strategy that will protect your rights. Attorney Finizio will work hard for you and she will seek the best outcome possible to your criminal case.
Call South Jersey Criminal Attorney Michele Finizio If You Have Been Charged with Theft, Burglary, or Robbery in Cherry Hill, NJ
A conviction for a property crime, whether it be theft, burglary, or robbery, can greatly impact your family, your employment and earning capacity, and your personal freedom. Camden, NJ criminal defense attorney Michele Finizio is an experienced legal advocate who knows the judicial system and who can provide a defense strategy that allows you to avoid the most severe penalties. She will invest the time and effort necessary to equip you with the best legal defense.
Call Attorney Finizio today at 856-242-7300 or contact her online to schedule a free consultation at the law firm’s office in Moorestown, New Jersey.