New Jersey Driving While Suspended Attorney
Driving While Revoked Lawyer in Cherry Hill, NJ Represents Clients Accused of Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License in Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Throughout NJ
There are many reasons why your license can be suspended or revoked in New Jersey. New Jersey driving while suspended attorney Michele Finizio identifies these reasons as:
- 12 or more points on your driver’s license
- Driving while intoxicated (DWI)
- Driving under the influence of drugs
- Driving a motor vehicle without insurance
- Reckless driving
- Causing a fatal car accident
- Failure to make a court-ordered appearance
- Failure to pay surcharges
- Abandonment of a motor vehicle on a public highway
- And more
In New Jersey, driving with a suspended or revoked driver’s license carries significant potential penalties, particularly for multiple offenders. The relevant statute is N.J.S.A. 39:3-40, which says that “No person to whom a driver’s license has been refused or whose driver’s license or reciprocity privilege has been suspended or revoked, or who has been prohibited from obtaining a driver’s license, shall personally operate a motor vehicle during the period of refusal, suspension, revocation or prohibition.”
Facing A Municipal Court Violation And Have Questions? We Can Help. Contact The Law Offices of Michele Finizio Today At 856-888-9059 Or Fill Our Our Convenient Online Contact Form For A Free Consultation About Your Case.
Conviction for a first offense results in a fine of $500 (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(a)); conviction for a second offense calls for a fine of $750 and at least one but not more than five days in the county jail (see N.J.S.A. 39:3-40(b)); conviction for a third or subsequent offense calls for a fine of $1,000 and a 10-day jail sentence. In addition, section (d) of the statute prescribes that the court shall impose or extend a period of suspension not to exceed six months.
However, the penalty gets even stiffer if there’s an accident involving bodily injury to another person. In that case, the court imposes a period of imprisonment of at least 45 days but no more than 180 days. And other enhanced penalties may also be prescribed in certain circumstances—in the case of intoxication, for example.
Moreover, driving with a suspended license results in a $250 surcharge for three years (for a total surcharge of $750). This is an addition to any point violation surcharges, which can result in you being surcharged annually for three years.
I can honestly say that I am 100% satisfied with the outcome of my case. Michael handled my case very well. I would definitely recommend her to anyone who needs help with any court issues.
Very realistic and professional. Great with communication and prompt with follow ups. Flexible with availability, responds to both texts and phone calls. I was very happy with the service I received.
Michele is an amazing attorney. She goes above and beyond to help. She answers her phone at all times of the day and is eager to get you the answers and give you the advice and representation you need. Don’t hesitate to use her services!!!!
Incidentally, ignoring notices requesting payment of surcharges will result in a suspended driver’s license, per the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission’s Surcharge page. And if you fail to make surcharge payments after receiving a Suspension Order, a “certificate of debt” is filed with the Superior Court, which allows the State to collect unpaid surcharges without your consent. Also known as a “judgment,” such judgements prevent the sale of personal property, can lead to wage garnishment, and are reported to the major credit bureaus. Meanwhile, the Suspension Order remains active until you make the required surcharge payment and the Motor Vehicle Commission’s $100 license restoration fee.
Moving away from New Jersey does not allow you to escape punishment, because if your driving privileges are suspended by the State, you are reported to the National Driver Registry, which other states review before issuing or renewing a driver’s license.
Contact an Experienced New Jersey Driving While Suspended Attorney to Schedule a Free Consultation Today
If you’ve been charged with driving on a suspended or revoked license in any of the following New Jersey counties, contact the Law Offices of Michele Finizio for a free, confidential consultation.
- Burlington County
- Camden County
- Atlantic County
- Gloucester County
- Mercer County
Over the years we have successfully represented many individuals accused of driving on a suspended or revoked license and we can provide strong, aggressive representation to minimize or perhaps even avoid the penalties prescribed by law. Don’t wait to contact us; if you delay retaining counsel it could negatively impact your case. You can contact us online 24 hours a day/seven days a week. We pride ourselves on returning calls promptly.
At the Law Offices of Michele Finizio we offer reasonable fees, custom payment plans, and also accept Visa®, Mastercard® and American Express® cards. Our offices are located on East Main Street in Moorestown, across from the Community Center, but we also make appointments to see clients at home, in jail, or at the hospital. Evening and weekend appointments are available as well. We frequently represent residents of Cherry Hill and surrounding cities in New Jersey.
Get A Free Consultation With An Experienced New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney. All You Have To Do Is Call 856-888-9059 Or Fill Out Our Online Contact Form.
Driving While Suspended Defense Locations Served:
- Burlington County Driving While Suspended Defense
- Camden County Driving While Suspended Defense
- Gloucester County Driving While Suspended Defense
Michele Finizio has office locations nearby located at 9 E Main St, Moorestown, NJ 08057, and 1873 Marlton Pike East #2d, Cherry Hill, NJ 08003. Contact her today for a free consultation about your case.
Frequently Asked Questions about Driving with a Suspended or Revoked License in New Jersey:
Per the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission’s Restoring your License or Registration page, points are only added to your driving record for moving violations. Points are not assessed for parking and other non-moving violations. However, you license will be suspended if you get 12 or more points on your driving record; points on your license are also likely to cause a dramatic increase in your auto insurance rates.
For a first offense of driving while suspended the penalty is a fine of $500 and license suspension of up to six months. In addition, driving with a suspended license results in a $250 surcharge for three years (for a total surcharge of $750). Penalties for second, third and subsequent offenses are steeper and also include jail time.
Yes, for a second, third or subsequent offense. Part of the penalty for a second offense is one to five days in jail; conviction for a third or subsequent offense includes a 10-day jail term. Various other penalties apply as well, and the consequences are even more serious if your license was suspended because you were found driving under the influence (DUI) or driving while intoxicated (DWI).
Frequently Asked Questions About Traffic Ticket Violations in New Jersey
What should I do if I receive a traffic ticket?
What are the possible penalties if I get a traffic ticket?