Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Voorhees, NJ
New Jersey Criminal & Traffic Defense Attorneys Represent Clients Accused of Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Camden County and Burlington County, NJ
Leaving the scene of an accident is a serious offense that can carry significant consequences. The charge of knowingly leaving the scene of an accident is governed under N.J.S. 39:4-129. The severity of the consequences will depend on whether the accident caused only property damage or whether someone was injured or died as a result of the accident.
Leaving the Scene of an Accident in NJ: Traffic Charge or Criminal Charge?
When an individual leaves the scene of an accident that results in property damage only, and is the first offense, then the offense is classified as a traffic violation. The law requires a mandatory fine of between $200 and $400 and a loss of driving privileges for six (6) months. A jail sentence of up to 30 days may also be imposed upon the operator of the vehicle. A second offense involving leaving the scene of an accident carries of fine of $400 to $600 and a mandatory loss of driving privileges for one (1) year, as well as a possible jail sentence of 30-90 days. Additionally, two points will be imposed on the operator’s driving license.
When an individual leaves the scene of an accident that results in personal injury or death, the offense is classified as a crime in New Jersey. The law requires a mandatory fine of between $2,500 and $5,000, as well as a loss of driving privileges for one (1) year. A subsequent offense for leaving the scene of an accident that results in injury or death will result in a permanent loss of driving privileges in New Jersey. A jail term of up to 180 days may also be imposed when the accident in question causes injury or death. Additionally, there will be eight (8) points assessed on the offender’s driver’s license, which will also cause the imposition of an annual surcharge to renew the license.
All of the consequences described above can be enhanced due to circumstances surrounding the accident. For instance, if the accident occurred in a construction zone, safe zone, or 65 mph speed zone, all statutory fines will be doubled.
NJ Traffic Lawyer Michele Finizio Defends Individuals Charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident in Medford, New Jersey
Defending the charge of leaving the scene of an accident with the help of an experienced traffic and municipal court attorney in New Jersey can assist a defendant in reducing the severity of the consequences imposed by the state. Michele Finizio is an experienced and respected traffic and criminal defense attorney who vigorously defends all types of traffic charges in Camden, Cherry Hill, Washington Township, Gloucester Township, Maple Shade, and everywhere else in South Jersey.
If you have been charged with leaving the scene of an accident, contact Attorney Finizio today at 856-599-5519, or fill out an online contact form for a free consultation at our office in Moorestown, New Jersey.