Traffic Ticket Violations Lawyer Moorestown, NJ
Experienced Traffic Tickets Lawyer Represents Clients Accused of Traffic Violations in Burlington County, Camden County, Atlantic County, Gloucester County, and Mercer County, New Jersey
Traffic tickets are commonly perceived as minor offenses, but because New Jersey utilizes a point system for traffic citations, violations can have far-reaching and sometimes unanticipated consequences that extend beyond the direct impact of the ticket. In addition to the cost of the ticket itself, a speeding ticket or other citation can impact your driving record, result in increased car insurance costs, and potentially lead to fines, surcharges, a suspended or revoked driver’s license or even prison time.
That’s why it’s frequently worthwhile to consult with and retain a traffic ticket lawyer following the receipt of a traffic citation. A skilled and experienced traffic tickets lawyer can help you decide whether to challenge a traffic citation in court, make you aware of the consequences of not challenging a ticket, and guide you through the process should you decide to go to court.
Experienced Traffic Tickets Lawyer Can Help Remove Points for Traffic Violations
If you receive a ticket for a moving violation in New Jersey, the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission (MVC) will add “points” to your driving record. The number of points added is based on the severity of the moving violation in question; points are not added for parking tickets and other non-moving violations.
For example, according to the MVC, unlawful use of the median strip on the New Jersey Turnpike, Garden State Parkway or Atlantic City Expressway is assessed at two points, while improper passing on those three roadways is assessed at four points.
But there are things you can do to get points removed from your record. For example, successful completion of a qualified defensive driving program can be used to subtract two points from your record once every five years. Also, successful completion of a Driver Improvement Program may be used to subtract three points once every two years, but only in response to MVC proposed action. Also, a traffic tickets attorney can advocate for three points to be removed from your record for each year you go without a traffic violation or suspension, with the year beginning on the date of your most recent violation or restoration.
Why Choose the Law Offices of Michele Finizio After Being Accused of Violating Traffic Laws in Burlington County, or Elsewhere in New Jersey?
At the Law Offices of Michele Finizio, we provide strong, aggressive representation to defendants who have been charged with traffic violations. We have successfully handled traffic tickets for thousands of clients in Burlington County and surrounding New Jersey counties, helping clients to minimize or avoid increases in car insurance rates and avoid driver’s license suspension or revocation, as well as surcharges.
As you may know, if you receive six or more points on your license within three years you may be assessed a surcharge, which is defined by the MVC as “a fine that is assessed by the New Jersey Surcharge Violation System (NJSVS) on an annual basis to drivers who have excessive points for traffic violations or have been convicted, in court, of specific offenses….”
So, for example, “if you accumulate six or more points within three years from your last posted violation, you receive a $150 surcharge plus $25 for each point over six.” Select traffic violations—like driving without a license, driving with a suspended license, or driving without liability insurance—may also result in a surcharge. Meanwhile, if you collect twelve points within a two-year period your license may be suspended.
As such, clients have retained us to defend them when they have received a ticket for leaving the scene of an injury accident (8 points, as per N.J.S.A. 39:4-129), speeding 30 mph over the speed limit (5 points, 39:4-98) and speeding 15-29 mph over the speed limit (4 points, 39:4-98), as well as the common traffic violations listed below.
Traffic Violations in New Jersey:
- Abandonment of a motor vehicle
- Avoiding a traffic signal
- Commercial Driver’s License (CDL)
- DUID (Driving Under the Influence of Drugs)
- DWI N.J.S.A. 39:4-50
- Failure to Keep Right N.J.S.A. 39:4-82
- Failure to Report an Accident N.J.S.A. 39:4-130
- Failure to Yield at an Intersection
- Failure to Yield for Emergency Vehicles N.J.S.A. 39:4-91
- Failure to Yield for Pedestrians
- Failure to Yield Right of Way N.J.S.A. 39:4-90
- Ignoring an Officer’s Directions
- Improper Passing N.J.S.A. 39:4-85
- Improper Right or Left Turns
- Improper Signal N.J.S.A. 39:4-126
- Improper Turn at a Traffic Signal
- Improper U-Turn N.J.S.A. 39:4-125
- Insurance Surcharges
- Leaving the Scene of an Accident N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1.1
- Out of State Violations
- Passing a School Bus
- Racing on a Highway N.J.S.A. 39:4-52
- Reckless Driving N.J.S.A. 39:4-96
- Speeding (1-14 mph over speed limit)
- Tailgating N.J.S.A. 39:4-89
- Traffic Signal Violation N.J.S.A. 2C:17-3.1
- Uninsured Driver N.J.S.A. 39:6B-2
- Unlicensed Driver
- Wrong Way on a One-Way Street N.J.S.A. 39:4-85.1
Contact an Experienced Defense Lawyer to Schedule a Free Consultation Today
If you have received a traffic ticket in New Jersey—or a ticket for a moving violation committed out-of-state—the Law Offices of Michele Finizio offer a free, confidential consultation. Contact us online today. Our offices are conveniently located on East Main Street in Moorestown, across from the Moorestown Community Center.
Frequently Asked Questions About Traffic Tickets in New Jersey
If you receive a traffic ticket in New Jersey “points” may be added to your driving record. Most point assessments are itemized in Title 39 of the New Jersey Statutes Annotated (N.J.S.A.). For example, N.J.S.A. 39-4-98 prescribes two points for speeding 1-14 mph over the speed limit, four points for speeding 15-29 mph over the speed limit, and five points for 30 mph+ over the speed limit. A list of the point assessments for the most common moving violations can be found here.
According to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, an individual with a blood alcohol concentration of 0.08% or greater who operates a motor vehicle is considered to be driving under the influence (DUI). And in New Jersey, “if you get arrested for a DUI, you must take an Alcotest/Breathalyzer test.” That’s because when you get a New Jersey driver’s license, you give consent for this test (implied consent). “If you refuse to take an Alcotest/Breathalyzer test, you will be detained and brought to a hospital where staff may draw blood.” And if you are convicted of refusing to submit to a test, the prescribed penalties are similar to that of DUI. That is, penalties for a first offense include (but are not limited to) loss of license for seven months to a year, plus a $300-$500 fine.
Frequently Asked Questions About Traffic Tickets
What should I do if I receive a traffic ticket?
What are the possible penalties if I get a traffic ticket?
We owe a debt of gratitude for her service. I was shocked at how much she was able to do for my son. She is a solid lawyer who is honest and works to insure the best possible outcome for her client is achieved.”