Assault Attorney in Camden, New Jersey
South Jersey Criminal Defense Lawyer Defends Clients Against Violent Crime Charges in Burlington County, Gloucester County & Camden County, NJ
A charge of assault in New Jersey, regardless of whether it is a simple assault charge or an aggravated assault charge, can be very complex. Individuals charged with assault may be subject to a prison sentence, probation, and/or fines. If you have been charged with assault, or with any other violent crime, you need to speak with an experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.
Michele Finizio is an aggressive South Jersey criminal defense lawyer who will fight to keep you out of jail. Attorney Finizio has successfully defended countless clients against assault charges in Pemberton, Medford, Mt. Laurel, Monroe Township, Glassboro, Pennsauken, Voorhees, and elsewhere in New Jersey. Contact Attorney Finizio today to discuss your case.
Simple Assault Charges in New Jersey
Simple assault is a misdemeanor offense in New Jersey. You can be charged with simple assault for merely threatening and instilling fear of bodily harm to another person. In a situation such as this, the person being threatened must believe that they are in imminent danger of suffering physical injury.
You can also be charged with simple assault if you purposely, knowingly, and recklessly attempt to cause or cause someone to experience bodily injury. A person involved in a fight that results in minor injuries would most likely be charged with simple assault in New Jersey.
If you are convicted of a simple assault, you can serve up to six (6) months in prison, depending on the circumstances. You can also be fined up to $1,000.
Aggravated Assault Charges in NJ
Aggravated assault is considered a felony offense in New Jersey. Aggravated assault consists of simple assault with the added elements of significant and/or serious bodily injury, the lack of concern toward human life, and possibly utilizing a deadly weapon with the intention of inflicting bodily injury. A simple assault can also be upgraded to aggravated assault if the attack involves a public servant such as a police officer or firefighter. The degree of the charges will depend on the circumstances surrounding the incident, as well as the extent of injury the victim suffered.
The consequences of aggravated assault charges are more severe than a simple assault charge. The penalties for a conviction for aggravated assault include up to 10 years in prison and fines of up to $150,000, depending on the degree of the convicted charge. In addition, depending on the charge, a defendant who is convicted of certain violent crimes in New Jersey is a candidate for the No Early Release Act (NERA). If you are convicted of a crime that falls under the NERA, you must serve 85% of your sentence before you become eligible for parole. Under the NERA, you have no chance of receiving an early release from prison.
Free Consultation with an Experienced Evesham, NJ Assault Defense Lawyer
If you have been charged with aggravated assault or simple assault in Evesham, Deptford, Cherry Hill, or anywhere else in New Jersey, you could be subject to severe penalties that include prison time. That’s why you should not delay in contacting experienced South Jersey criminal defense lawyer Michele Finizio. Let Attorney Finizio take a look at your case and help you determine the next step in your defense. Contact Attorney Finizio today to schedule a free consultation at the firm’s office in Moorestown, NJ.