Many agree that Thanksgiving is the official start of the holiday season. You might be surprised to learn that the night before Thanksgiving is the beginning of the holiday DUI season.
What is the Holiday DUI Season?
The National Highway Transportation Safety Administration (NHTSA) reports an increase in DUIs and alcohol-related accidents during the holidays. Holiday celebrations may often include alcoholic drinks, which can lead to an increase in the number of drivers on the road who are illegally under the influence.
Police officers have noticed this increase and have responded by increasing the number of police officers on the road. These officers are specifically looking for signs of intoxication. Thanksgiving eve is one of the most common drunk driving holidays, as it’s also one of the biggest bar nights of the whole year. This means that the roads tend to be less safe on Thanksgiving eve.
How to Stay Safe This Holiday Season
Here are a few tips you can use to keep you and your family safe this holiday season:
- Always have a designated driver: Before attending any holiday celebrations, determine who the designated driver is. If you don’t have one, take advantage of rideshare apps.
- Hand over your keys: Your logical reasoning may decrease once you have had a few drinks. It’s best to hand off your keys ahead of time.
If you have plans to celebrate Thanksgiving Eve this year, it’s important to have a safety plan in place. Not only can this help protect you, but it can also help you avoid legal charges.
Legal Consequences of a DUI in New Jersey
A single mistake of getting behind the wheel after you have had too much can be life-changing, both legally and emotionally. The legal limit in New Jersey is 0.08%, which is not always easy to measure. Your BAC can be affected by how much you have had to eat before drinking, as well as the type of drinks you consume.
If you’re convicted of a DUI in New Jersey, you’re likely to receive expensive fines and potential jail time. If your limit is over 0.10%, you’ll automatically receive legal fines between $300 and $500. You can also lose your driver’s license for a time period anywhere between seven months and one year. If you injure someone, you will also have to live with that.
You may also be required to attend an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC) between 12-48 hours. You can expect an increase in insurance rates, as well as a surcharge of $1,000 per year. Depending on the details of the conviction, you may also be required to spend 30 days in jail. Keep in mind, these consequences are for first-time offenders. If you have prior DUI offenses, your legal consequences are likely to be even worse.
Contact an Experienced Mount Laurel DWI Defense Attorney About Your Drunk Driving Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a DWI or DUI offense in New Jersey? A drunk driving conviction could leave you with a permanent record, and it could result in your driver’s license being suspended for a very long time. That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified DWI defense lawyer about your case. The lawyers at the Law Offices of Michele Finizio represent clients charged with drunk driving, breath test refusal, and related offenses in Evesham Township, Mount Laurel, Willingboro, Pemberton, and throughout New Jersey. Call (609) 230-0374 or fill out our confidential online form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office located at 9 E. Main St, Moorestown, NJ 08057, in addition to an office located in Cherry Hill, NJ.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.