New Jersey DWI Defense Attorney
Reputable DUI Lawyer in Cherry Hill, NJ Helps Clients Fight Charges for Driving Under the Influence in Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Throughout NJ
When you’re arrested on DUI/DWI charges, panic and fear may be your first responses. New Jersey takes driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs very seriously. DUI or DWI penalties are always severe—but they are influenced by a number of factors. Having a strong New Jersey DWI defense attorney by your side gives you the greatest chance of beating the charges or minimizing the impact on your life.
At the Law Offices of Michele Finizio, our experienced New Jersey DWI defense attorney has years of experience helping New Jersey drivers fight DUI/DWI charges. Our firm has a proven track record of successfully helping clients move on after a DUI charge.
Often, when people are arrested for driving while intoxicated, they think they can’t fight the charges and are stuck with the judge’s decision. That is usually not the case. A skilled New Jersey DWI defense attorney with significant resources and experience can greatly improve your odds of having the charges dismissed.
Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or more is illegal under the law. However, a 0.08 percent BAC reading does not mean that the case is closed. To learn more about how an experienced DUI Lawyer in Cherry Hill, NJ from our firm can help in your specific case, contact us for a free case review today.
Understanding New Jersey DUI/DWI Offenses
Punishment for a DUI/DWI in New Jersey always depends on two primary factors:
- Whether you have had any other DUI/DWIs in the prior ten-year period, and
- The level of alcohol found in your blood
Extenuating circumstances, such as whether you were involved in an accident where someone was hurt, can also impact your punishment. DUI/DWI-related charges that The Law Offices of Michele Finizio handles include:
- First-offense DUI/DWI
- Second-offense DUI/DWI
- Third or subsequent-offense DUI/DWI
- Refusing a breath test
- Underage DUI/DWI
- DUI/DWI with a commercial driver’s license
- Driving with an open container of alcohol
- Driving under the influence of drugs
- DUI/DWI in a school zone
- Driving while your license is suspended because of a prior DUI/DWI
Charges for any one of these offenses can create a domino effect that you might not anticipate when charged. It is never easy to predict the future. Any type of DUI/DWI-related offense has to be taken seriously because a subsequent offense could mean certain jail time.
Penalties for DUI/DWI in New Jersey
New Jersey recently changed the penalties for DUI/DWI. Offenders can still face a range of penalties, many of which are at the judge’s discretion. The new law is beneficial in that it provides options that can help first-time offenders avoid losing their license. Depending on the circumstances, however, even first offenders might find themselves facing up to 30 days in county jail.
Penalties for first-offense DUI/DWI in New Jersey can include license suspension for between three months and one year, based on your BAC at the time of arrest, as follows:
- BAC between 0.08% and 0.10%: Your license will be suspended only until you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, which must remain in place for three months.
- BAC between 0.10% and 0.15%: Your license will be suspended until you install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, which must remain in place for between seven months and one year.
- BAC over 0.15%: Your license will be suspended for between four and six months, after which you must install an ignition interlock device in your vehicle for between nine months and 15 months.
Additional penalties for a first-time DUI/DWI include:
- Fines of between $250 and $500 (depending on BAC)
- A car insurance surcharge equal to $1,000 per year, for three years
- Potential alcohol or substance abuse counseling
- A 12-hour to 48-hour alcohol course at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center
I can honestly say that I am 100% satisfied with the outcome of my case. Michael handled my case very well. I would definitely recommend her to anyone who needs help with any court issues.
Very realistic and professional. Great with communication and prompt with follow ups. Flexible with availability, responds to both texts and phone calls. I was very happy with the service I received.
Michele is an amazing attorney. She goes above and beyond to help. She answers her phone at all times of the day and is eager to get you the answers and give you the advice and representation you need. Don’t hesitate to use her services!!!!
New Jersey DWI Defense Attorney Aggressively Defending DUI Charges
At the Law Offices of Michele Finizio, we regularly defend clients arrested on DUI/DWI charges across New Jersey. Our firm never takes police evidence at face value. A careful, detailed investigation into what happened during your traffic stop, field sobriety testing, arrest, and interrogation can provide an opening to get your charges dropped.
An experienced New Jersey DWI defense attorney at the Law Offices of Michele Finizio may be able to form a defense based upon:
- Lack of probable cause for the traffic stop
- Lack of probable cause for sobriety testing
- Errors in the field sobriety testing process
- Calibration problems with the Alcotest breathalyzer machine
- Challenges to whether the officers on the scene were properly trained to administer field sobriety testing
- Whether racial bias influenced the traffic stop or arrest
These are only examples of the types of defenses that can result in the dismissal of DUI/DWI charges in New Jersey. New Jersey DWI defense attorney Michele Finizio treats every case and every client seriously. You can expect a thorough investigation into the specifics of your case to identify the unique defenses that are best suited for a successful outcome.
To learn more about how a skilled DUI Lawyer in Cherry Hill, NJ at The Law Offices of Michele Finizio can help in your case, schedule a free initial consultation today.
Schedule a Free Initial Consultation with a Proven New Jersey DWI Defense Attorney at The Law Offices of Michele Finizio Today
Drivers arrested on DUI/DWI charges are often concerned about the monetary cost of the offense over time. Michele Finizio offers reasonable, competitive pricing and accepts all major credit cards. Payment plans can also be discussed. Your first consultation is free, so there’s no risk in contacting our firm to learn more about your rights. Call or contact us online today to get started,
Get A Free Consultation With An Experienced New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney. All You Have To Do Is Call 856-888-9059 Or Fill Out Our Online Contact Form.
Frequently Asked Questions About Facing DUI/DWI Charges in New Jersey
Yes. Refusal to submit to a breathalyzer is a separate offense in New Jersey. Further, you can still be charged with the underlying DUI/DWI. A BAC reading is not necessary—the officer’s testimony alone can be sufficient for the charges to stick. If you refused the breath test, it is especially important to retain the services of an experienced New Jersey DWI Defense Attorney as soon as possible.
Apart from being immediately taken to jail, judges have discretion as to whether to require jail time. The ability of your New Jersey DWI Defense Attorney is critical to avoiding jail. The judge may consider whether you have any past criminal record, how high your BAC was, and whether any aggravating or mitigating factors were involved in your case. An experienced DUI Lawyer in Cherry Hill, NJ can frame your case in the best possible light and fight to avoid jail time if at all possible.