Camden Criminal Lawyer: Are Marijuana Arrests Fair?
Law Offices of Michele Finizio, released an article discussing “Camden Criminal Lawyer: Are Marijuana Arrests Fair?”, if you would like to know more Please continue reading below.
We have seen public attitudes about marijuana shift dramatically over the past few years. The plant, which is still a Schedule I controlled dangerous substance under the federal Controlled Substances Act, has been approved for medical use in 25 states, including New Jersey. Beyond this, many cities throughout the country have opted to decriminalize the possession and use of marijuana for recreational use and a few states, Colorado, Oregon, Alaska, and Washington, have legalized recreational cannabis use for adults. Despite this progress, arrests for the possession of marijuana are made regularly in New Jersey and across the nation. These arrests disproportionately affect African Americans. After seeing the success of legal marijuana in other states, many here in the Garden State are questioning whether keeping marijuana illegal is the right choice.
Penalties for Marijuana Possession in New Jersey
Currently, possession of marijuana for any reason other than medical use is illegal in New Jersey.
The penalties an individual faces for marijuana possession depend on the amount of marijuana he or she had and whether he or she was in a school zone. Being arrested for marijuana possession in a school zone, which is defined as any place within 1,000 feet of school property, automatically adds 100 hours of community service and an additional fine to the penalties the individual faces.
For the possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana, an individual faces up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000. For possession of 50 grams or more, he or she faces 18 months in jail and a fine of up to $25,000.
Conviction of the possession of less than five grams of hash or concentrates can land an individual in jail for six months and saddle the offender with a $1,000 fine and for possession of more than five grams, he or she can face six months in jail and up to $25,000 in fines. The possession of marijuana paraphernalia is a disorderly persons offense. The penalties for this offense are six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000.
Other marijuana-related offenses, such as the cultivation or distribution of the drug or knowingly selling it to a minor or a pregnant woman, can result in steeper penalties. Individuals under the age of 17 who are convicted of marijuana-related offenses can also have their driving privileges suspended for six months to two years.
Work with Camden Criminal Lawyers at The Law Offices of Michele Finizio to Fight Your Marijuana Charge
Whether you agree with it or not, marijuana is illegal to cultivate, distribute, and possess in New Jersey outside of the state’s medicinal marijuana program. If you are facing a marijuana-related charge, it is imperative that you start working on your case’s defense with an experienced criminal defense lawyer in Camden as soon as you can. Complete our online form or call 856-242-7300 to contact the Law Offices of Michele Finizio. We proudly serve clients in Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Salem County.