New Jersey DUI Lawyers Discuss Multiple DUI Offenses
In New Jersey, an individual charged with their second DUI faces steeper penalties than they faced with their first DUI charge. If that individual is charged with DUI a third time, they face steeper penalties yet. This is to discourage habitual drunk driving. However, an individual’s second or subsequent DUI many not always be charged as such. In New Jersey, for an individual to face the penalties associated with a second offense DUI, they must be facing their second DUI charge within 10 years of their first. If 11 or more years elapse between the individual’s first and second DUI charge, the individual will only face the penalties for a first time offense, even if it is technically the individual’s second or later DUI charge. Cherry Hill DUI lawyers remind that this is also true for charges beyond one’s second DUI.
When an individual does face multiple DUI charges within a decade, they are considered to be a habitual offender. Data collected by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) found that a significant percentage of individuals charged with DUIs were charged again within 10 years. This data was collected in the late 1980s and early 1990s, though, so it is important to note that the percentages of repeat DUI offenders in each state today could be very different from the percentages collected about 25 years ago.
How Do Penalties Change for Subsequent DUI Charges in NJ?
In New Jersey, an individual facing their first DUI charge usually faces the following penalties:
- Up to 30 days in jail
- The possibility of having an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle
- Fines and penalties of up to $500
- Suspension of their driver’s license for three months to one year
For a second offense DUI charge, the individual possibly faces the following:
- Fines and penalties of $500 to $1,000
- Up to 90 days in jail
- A driver’s license suspension for two years
- The possibility of an ignition interlock device installed on their vehicle
If an individual is charged with DUI for a third time, they may face the following penalties:
- The possibility of an ignition interlock device installed on their car
- A driver’s license suspension for 10 years
- Fines and penalties of up to $1,000
- Up to six months in jail
New Jersey DUI Lawyers at The Law Offices of Michele Finizio Defend Against First-Time and Subsequent DUI Charges in South Jersey
If you have been charged with a DUI in New Jersey, whether it is your first or subsequent DUI charge, work with an experienced DUI lawyer to fight it. Fill out our online form or call 856-599-5519 to schedule your initial legal consultation with an attorney at The Law Offices of Michele Finizio, located in Moorestown. Our New Jersey DUI lawyers represent clients from Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Salem County.