While many consider shoplifting to be a juvenile or minor offense, the crime comes with serious penalties in the state of New Jersey. An individual can be arrested and charged for shoplifting when they’ve attempted to remove a store’s theft-prevention devices, altered any price tags, taken merchandise out of the store without paying or removed an item from its packaging inside a store.
Shoplifting Charges in New Jersey
Shoplifting charges in New Jersey can result in fines and jail time. Additionally, shoplifting victims will often pursue a civil lawsuit against perpetrators for the value of their stolen goods. The criminal penalties for shoplifting in New Jersey are largely dictated based on the total value of all compromised merchandise. If the total value of the items is less than $200, then you could be facing fines up to $1,000 and a maximum of six months in jail. A merchandise value of $200-$500 may result in 18 months in jail and fines as high as $10,000. A maximum fine of $15,000 and three to five years in jail are standard for convictions with merchandise ranging from $500 to $75,000. Shoplifting charges involving merchandise valued over $75,000 may result in fines up to $150,000 and five to ten years in jail.
Schedule a Consultation With a New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney
Criminal defense attorney Michele Finizio is experienced in representing clients charged with shoplifting, and she can help determine whether a diversionary program can help reduce your criminal penalties. In some cases, convicted shoplifters can have their criminal charges dropped after completing a diversionary program’s requirements. If you have multiple convictions, then your criminal penalties will likely be increased. The law office of Michele Finizio will prioritize your freedom and work together with you towards the best possible outcome in your situation. Her office can be reached at 609-230-0374. Call now to discuss the details of your case.