Marijuana Use Across the Globe
The United Nations estimates that over 158 million people use marijuana globally. That means that nearly four percent of the world’s population admits to using the substance despite various governmental bans on the drug.
Over the past several decades, the public’s perception of marijuana has shifted. Just last year, the UN officially declared that marijuana is “relatively” safe despite international treaties banning the substance dating back to 1961. The UN Secretary-General has openly called for its decriminalization. Several states in the US, including New Jersey, have recognized these shifting opinions and started altering their laws.
Keep reading to learn more about the specific marijuana laws that apply in New Jersey.
The Criminal Penalties for Possession of Marijuana
New Jersey has changed its laws regarding possession of marijuana. Now, under very limited circumstances, marijuana possession is allowed. The person in possession must have a valid medical marijuana license. They must have registered with the state’s Department of Health. This extra step offers protection from “arrest, prosecution…and other penalties.” In addition, their marijuana must be maintained in its original packaging. It must have come from an Alternative Treatment Center. Never transport the drug unless it’s necessary.
Otherwise, it remains a crime to possess any amount of marijuana. The penalties for possessing less than 50 grams includes up to six months in jail and fines up to $1,000. Anything more than 50 grams could result in up to 18 months in prison and fines of up to $25,000.
Cultivating Marijuana in NJ
Cultivation of marijuana is a crime even when you hold a medical marijuana license. The penalties you face are determined by the number of plants you are found in possession of. If you have less than ten plants, then you may be sentenced to up to three to five years in prison and $25,000 in fines. The penalties drastically increase as this number rises.
The Sale and Distribution of Marijuana in NJ
Similarly, selling marijuana or possessing large amounts with the intent to sell it is a crime. If you have less than an ounce, then you may be sentenced to 18 months in jail and up to $25,000 in fines. Between an ounce and five pounds may result in five years in jail. These penalties continue to increase. The maximum sentence someone can receive for having more than 25 pounds is up to 20 years in prison and $300,000 in fines.
Contact an Experienced Moorestown Drug Defense Attorney About Your Marijuana Drug Crime Charges in New Jersey
Have you been charged with a drug related offense in New Jersey? A drug crime conviction can carry with it heavy fines, jail time, and driver’s license suspension! That is why it is imperative that you speak with a qualified drug defense lawyer about your case. The Law Offices of Michele Finizio represents clients charged with use, possession, production, distribution, and related drug offenses in Camden, Cherry Hill, Washington Township, Monroe, Mount Laurel, and Medford, and throughout New Jersey. Call 856-242-7300 or fill out our confidential online contact form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office located at 9 E. Main St, Moorestown, NJ 08057.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.