Auto insurance is a requirement in New Jersey. Failing to carry auto insurance while driving a vehicle can not only put you at a financial risk, but also a legal one. In today’s blog, we discuss the penalties for driving without insurance in New Jersey.
New Jersey Car Insurance Requirements
Not only is car insurance a requirement in New Jersey, but all drivers must carry minimum coverage of the following:
- Bodily injury liability of $15,000 per person
- Bodily injury liability of $30,000 per accident
- Property damage liability of $5,000 per accident
New Jersey is also a no-fault auto insurance state. This means that if you’re in a car accident, your own insurance company will cover your initial costs. It doesn’t cover damages to your vehicle unless you have a full coverage policy. If you don’t have insurance, you will likely be responsible for all costs.
In addition to the minimum coverage, all drivers are also required to carry proof of insurance at all times. You must have proof of insurance in the following situations:
- Before an inspection
- If you’re in an accident
- If you’re stopped for a traffic violation
- If you’re stopped for a spot check
Even if you have insurance, but don’t have proof at the time, you can still receive a ticket, and even points on your license.
What Happens If You Don’t Have Car Insurance in New Jersey?
Your consequences of driving without insurance vary, depending on if you have any prior offenses. The consequences may include the following:
If it’s your first offense of driving without insurance, you may receive between $300-$1,000 in fines plus a $250 surcharge assessment every three years, for a total of three years.
Your driver’s license may also be suspended for up to one year. Community service may be a requirement and is determined by the court. It’s also possible to receive additional legal consequences like vehicle impoundment if you don’t provide proof of insurance within the set time period.
Second or Subsequent Offenses
If this is your second or more offense, you may receive even harsher consequences. You may receive legal fines between $500-$5,000, as well as a $250 surcharge for three years. Your license may be suspended for up to two full years and reinstatement is up to the director of the DMV.
You could also be sentenced to 14 days in jail and possible vehicle impoundment if you don’t show proof of insurance within 24 hours.
These are only the potential legal consequences that come with driving without insurance in New Jersey. If you lose your driver’s license, you may also lose your employment. If you have to spend time in jail, you may find it difficult to find additional employment. If you do cause an accident, you could also be personally liable for damages.
How a Traffic Violation Lawyer Can Help
The potential consequences of driving without insurance can have a significant impact on your life. When you work with a traffic violation defense lawyer, you may have several options available. Your lawyer may be able to negotiate a lesser sentence, which could mean that you avoid jail time or losing your driver’s license.
Contact an Experienced Moorestown Traffic Ticket Defense Lawyer About Your Driving Without Insurance Charges in Moorestown NJ
Were you arrested or charged with driving without insurance in New Jersey? You need to speak with a qualified traffic ticket attorney as soon as possible about your case. The Law Office of Michele Finizio has successfully represented clients charged with driving without insurance in Moorestown, Cherry Hill, Evesham Township, Burlington, and throughout New Jersey. Call (856) 888-9059 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 9 E. Main St, Moorestown, NJ 08057, as well as offices located in Cherry Hill, NJ.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.