Firm Logo

New Jersey First Offense DWI Attorney

First Offense DUI Lawyer in Cherry Hill, NJ Represents Clients Charged with First-Time DWIs in Burlington County, Camden County, Gloucester County, and Throughout NJ

In New Jersey, driving while intoxicated (DWI) (statute 39:4-50) is a motor vehicle violation that is associated with a range of quite significant penalties, which may include various fines, jail time, and suspension of driving privileges, among other things. Many people do not realize, however, that New Jersey law calls for first-time DWI offenders to be punished much less severely than subsequent, repeat DWI violators. Contact New Jersey first offense DWI attorney Michele Finizio today for a free initial consultation.

Since 2006, New Jersey drunk driving defense attorney Michele Finizio has helped numerous defendants — which includes first-time DWI offenders — avoid criminal liability for purported DWI violations in Cherry Hill, New Jersey. Call (856) 242-7300 to speak with an experienced New Jersey DWI defense attorney today. The initial consultation is always free.

Structure for First Offense DWI Penalties in Cherry Hill, NJ

New Jersey First Offense DWI Attorney

In order for the prosecution to prove you guilty of a DWI violation, they must be able to show that you were, in fact, intoxicated at the time of the accident or when you were pulled over by police. In New Jersey, as in other states, the legal limit for blood alcohol levels is 0.08%. Essentially, if you are tested and are deemed to have a blood alcohol level at 0.08% or above, then you will be deemed intoxicated and therefore in violation of NJ DUI laws and regulations.

In the DWI context, blood alcohol content (BAC) can affect penalties, too. Simply put, the higher your BAC level, the more severe the penalties — even if you’re a first-time offender with no prior convictions for drunk driving within the past 10 years.


I can honestly say that I am 100% satisfied with the outcome of my case. Michael handled my case very well. I would definitely recommend her to anyone who needs help with any court issues.

Lelany J.


Very realistic and professional. Great with communication and prompt with follow ups. Flexible with availability, responds to both texts and phone calls. I was very happy with the service I received.

Jerilyn N.


Michele is an amazing attorney. She goes above and beyond to help. She answers her phone at all times of the day and is eager to get you the answers and give you the advice and representation you need. Don’t hesitate to use her services!!!!

J. L.

BAC Less Than 0.10

If your BAC was between 0.08% and 0.10%, then you may be penalized with up to: a) 30 days imprisonment in the county jail; b) $400 in fines; c) additional insurance and other surcharges; d) an ignition interlock system installed in all owned vehicles; e) suspension of your driver’s license for 3 months; and f) even more penalties.

BAC of 0.10 or More

If your BAC was 0.10% or over, then you may be penalized with up to: a) 30 days imprisonment in the local county jail; b) $500 in fines; c) additional insurance and other surcharges; d) an ignition interlock system installed in all owned vehicles; e) suspension of your driver’s license for a year; and f) more penalties.

Contact an Experienced New Jersey Drunk Driving Attorney for Guidance in Your Cherry Hill First Offense DWI Case

Top DUI Lawyers in Camden

If you’ve been charged with a DWI in Cherry Hill, you may be confused, scared, and somewhat overwhelmed by the looming prospect of having to answer the charges in court. First-time defendants may not be aware of how the process actually plays out or understand the full legal ramifications of their violation. A conviction for a DWI offense in New Jersey could expose you to significant penalties, even if you are a first-time offender.

Cherry Hill criminal and DWI defense attorney Michele Finizio has over a decade of experience representing criminal defendants throughout New Jersey, and she is particularly well-versed in handling the defense of those who have been charged with a DWI, whether it’s a first-time offense or a repeat offense. In fact, Michele is Featured in 2021 as being among the Best DUI Lawyers in Camden. Check out their selection process here and Michele’s badge below.

Get A Free Consultation With An Experienced New Jersey Criminal Defense Attorney. All You Have To Do Is Call 856-888-9059 Or Fill Out Our Online Contact Form.

Reviews Matter

“First-class representation. We owe a debt of gratitude for her service. I was shocked at how much she was able to do for my son. She is a solid lawyer who is honest and works to ensure the best possible outcome for her client is achieved.”
- Former Client

“I could not have asked for a better attorney. Michele Finizio treated my case and the cases of those I’ve recommended as if we were part of her family. She gave it all she had. Thank you very much for an outstanding job.”
- D.A.

"Michele is an outstanding, no-beat-around-the-bush lawyer. She has done a remarkable job for me. She comes HIGHLY recommended by me to anyone who needs an experienced criminal defense attorney."
- C.O.

“Very professional qualities. I highly recommend Michele and will continue to seek her legal expertise in the future.”
- Former Client
View All Client Reviews