Firm Logo

Everything You Need to Know About Juvenile Marijuana Possession

August 01, 2022

Everything You Need to Know About Juvenile Marijuana Possession

Marijuana possession charges have changed significantly over the last couple of years. The state of New Jersey recently legalized recreational marijuana use for anyone over the age of 21 years. However, the state does have strict rules on where you can purchase marijuana, when you can use it, and how much you can carry with you.

You could still be charged if you fail to know and follow the laws. Here’s everything you need to know about minor marijuana possession charges in New Jersey.

Marijuana Possession Laws in New Jersey

New Jersey allows residents who are 21 years and older to use marijuana recreationally. Users must buy marijuana from dispensaries approved and licensed by the Cannabis Regulatory Commission. Users are only allowed to buy up to one ounce every 30 days. Those with a medicinal license for marijuana can buy up to three ounces every 30 days but must also be compliant with their prescription. Growing your own marijuana of any amount is illegal.

Recreational users are only permitted to use marijuana on private property or at a licensed dispensary that’s licensed for onsite use. The use of any form of marijuana is illegal on any federal property.

Similar to drinking and driving, the use of marijuana and driving is illegal. You can be charged with driving under the influence if you consume marijuana and drive.

Recreational users are also not allowed to travel within the state with marijuana, including by car or train. Since the laws of nearby states vary, New Jersey residents also can’t travel over state lines with marijuana.

Read more: Everything You Need to Know Now That Marijuana is Legal in New Jersey

Potential Consequences of Marijuana Possession Charges in New Jersey

Failing to follow these laws can lead to expensive fines and criminal charges. The specific penalties vary depending on which laws you break, including how much marijuana you have in your possession.

New Jersey has also decriminalized small amounts of marijuana possession. This means if you have over the legal limit on your person, but six ounces or less, there aren’t any penalties or jail time requirements.

However, if you have more than six ounces, you could be subject to up to 1.5 years in jail and fines up to $25,000. These legal consequences may increase if you have prior charges or if you’re within 1,000 feet of a school. Possession of marijuana with the intent to distribute charges are also more severe and can lead to up to 20 years in prison and fines up to $150,000.

Marijuana cultivation refers to making your own marijuana. This is also illegal in New Jersey at any amount. It can lead to up to 20 years in prison and fines up to $300,000. Possession of over 17 grams of hash or other concentrates is also illegal in New Jersey and may lead to up to 20 years in prison and legal fines up to $300,000.

Recreational marijuana has been legal in New Jersey since January 1, 2021. However, the state is still figuring out the logistics and laws, which could lead to some being charged.

Read more: Arrested for Marijuana Distribution? Here Are Possible Defenses

Contact an Experienced Moorestown Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Marijuana Possession Charges in New Jersey

Was your teen arrested or charged with marijuana possession in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving them with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending them to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about their case. The attorneys at the Law Offices of Michele Finizio have successfully represented clients charged with marijuana possession in Moorestown, Cherry Hill, Evesham Township, Mount Laurel, and throughout New Jersey. Call (609) 230-0374 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 9 E. Main St, Moorestown, NJ 08057, as well as an office located in Cherry Hill, NJ.

The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.

Disorderly conduct consists of any improper behavior such as fighting, threats of violence, or creating a dangerous atmosphere.

Reviews Matter

“First-class representation. We owe a debt of gratitude for her service. I was shocked at how much she was able to do for my son. She is a solid lawyer who is honest and works to ensure the best possible outcome for her client is achieved.”
- Former Client

“I could not have asked for a better attorney. Michele Finizio treated my case and the cases of those I’ve recommended as if we were part of her family. She gave it all she had. Thank you very much for an outstanding job.”
- D.A.

"Michele is an outstanding, no-beat-around-the-bush lawyer. She has done a remarkable job for me. She comes HIGHLY recommended by me to anyone who needs an experienced criminal defense attorney."
- C.O.

“Very professional qualities. I highly recommend Michele and will continue to seek her legal expertise in the future.”
- Former Client
View All Client Reviews