DUI/DWI Defense Lawyer in Medford, NJ
Traffic & DWI Attorney Helps Clients Fight Drunk Driving Charges in Burlington County, Gloucester County, and Camden County, New Jersey
When you are charged with DWI (Driving While Intoxicated) or DUI (Driving Under the Influence) in New Jersey, you may be facing serious consequences. DWI & DUI charges in NJ involve a complex set of laws. It is essential to have the advice and representation of an experienced drunk driving defense lawyer.
New Jersey drunk driving attorney Michele Finizio knows New Jersey’s DWI/DUI laws and she can help you navigate court proceedings. She will aggressively fight the DWI charges against you. Attorney Finizio has helped to preserve the rights of clients facing drunk driving charges in Evesham, Mount Laurel, Pemberton, Camden, Cherry Hill, and Washington Township, NJ.
Consequences of a Drunk Driving Conviction in New Jersey
Individuals convicted of a DWI offense in New Jersey can face license suspension, fines, surcharges, and possible incarceration. The severity of the penalty depends on whether the DWI is a first, second, third, or subsequent offense. In addition, the Department of Motor Vehicles maintains a permanent record of drunk driving convictions. The department imposes a mandatory insurance surcharge that can cost you many thousands of dollars, representing a significant penalty for those convicted.
DWI Evidence and Penalties in NJ
New Jersey drunk driving cases can be complex, with different levels of evidence requirements and penalties. Continue reading for additional information.
Evidence in DUI Cases
Prosecution of a New Jersey DWI involves proving intoxication and impairment by presenting evidence such as field sobriety test results and police observations of the defendant’s driving behavior. DWI prosecution also requires evidence showing that the driver violated the Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) limit, which is .08% in New Jersey. Furthermore, DWI/DUI laws are harsher for individuals under the age of 21. Young people under 21 who drive with a BAC of 0.01% or greater are breaking the law and will have their licenses suspended for 30-90 days, in addition to being ordered to serve 15-30 days of community service.
Penalties for a DUI/DWI Conviction in NJ
The penalties for driving while intoxicated in New Jersey are governed by N.J.S.A. 39:4-50 and can be quite severe and impact your life greatly. In addition to the standard penalties imposed upon conviction, your refusal of a breathalyzer or blood test can result in more serious driver’s license penalties. Moreover, your refusal becomes admissible in court as evidence of your DWI. Finally, law enforcement officers are permitted to impound a drunk driver’s car under the New Jersey John’s Law — and they can do this even before you are convicted.
First Offense DWI
If your blood alcohol concentration is 0.08% or higher but less than 0.10%, you can be ordered to pay a fine of not less than $250 but not more than $400. In addition, you can be detained for a period of not less than 12 hours nor more than 48 hours and required to attend alcohol education classes at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). Furthermore, at the discretion of the court, you can receive a sentence of imprisonment of up to 30 days, lose your driver’s license for a period of thirty (30) days and have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
Additional Penalties for High BAC
If your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) is 0.10% or higher, or you operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of a narcotic, hallucinogenic, or habit-producing drug, the court could fine you between $300 and $500. You could also be detained for at least 12 hours, but not more than 48 hours in accordance with the program requirements of the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). In addition, the court could sentence you to up to 30 days in jail and revoke your driver’s license for at least seven (7) months but not more than one (1) year.
Second Offense DWI
For a second DWI violation within a period of 10 years, you could receive a fine ranging from $500 to $1,000, and the court will order you to perform community service for a period of 30 days. You will also be sentenced to jail for a period of 48 hours to 90 days. Finally, you will lose your driver’s license for two (2) years and must install an ignition interlock device on each of your vehicles.
Third or Subsequent Offense DWI
For a third or subsequent DWI violation, you will be subject to a fine of $1,000. Moreover, the court could sentence you to imprisonment in a county jail or workhouse for at least 180 days. You will also lose your license for 10 years and will be required to install an ignition interlock device on each of your cars.
Call Gloucester Township, New Jersey DWI/DUI Defense Attorney Michele Finizio Now for a Free Consultation
New Jersey criminal & traffic defense attorney Michele Finizio is a well-respected DWI lawyer who understands the state’s drunk driving laws and who knows her way around the courts. In fact, Michele is Featured in 2021 Expertise.com as being among the Best DUI Lawyers in Camden. Check out their selection process here and Michele’s badge below.
Attorney Michele Finizio can answer your questions and aggressively defend you against a drunk driving charge. If you are charged with DWI or DUI in South Jersey, call her Moorestown, NJ office at 856-888-9059 or contact her online.