Free Consultation: 856.242.7300

Mount Laurel Child Pornography Defense Lawyer

Respected and Experienced Attorney Represents Clients Facing Child Pornography Charges in Mount Laurel, New Jersey 

An accusation for a crime involving child pornography is a very serious matter, both on a legal level and a professional level. If you have been accused of a crime involving child pornography, you are very likely already experiencing punishment that may feel like a conviction. The stigma associated with crimes related to children and pornography can damage your reputation long before trial. You need the strongest possible Mount Laurel child pornography defense lawyer by your side to fight to protect your rights every step of the way.

At The Law Offices of Michele Finizio, you will receive non-judgmental, experienced legal representation regardless of the charges against you. Every client we represent receives our full attention and tested legal skills. Our primary goal in every case is to obtain a not guilty verdict – or to have your charges dismissed before entering the courtroom.

Conviction for child pornography under New Jersey law carries penalties that are as serious as the crime itself. We know you might be reluctant to reach out for help if charged with child pornography in Mount Laurel, New Jersey, but time is of the essence in these complex cases. Rest assured that your consultation with our lawyer is kept completely confidential. Speaking with an experienced lawyer is instrumental in getting your life back on track. Contact The Law Offices of Michele Finizio for a free and confidential discussion.

Penalties for Child Pornography in Mount Laurel, New Jersey

Regardless of the degree of the charge, child pornography charges must be treated with the utmost care. In the court of public opinion, the degree of the crime can often be overlooked. Even conviction on “smaller” child pornography charges can damage your future when potential employers, landlords and even bank lenders have access to your criminal record.  If convicted, the punishment is even more severe. Child pornography convictions may carry:

  • Up to 20 years in New Jersey prison if charged with a first-degree crime (incarceration based on federal child pornography charges can last up to 40 years depending upon the circumstances),
  • Mandatory minimum prison sentences,
  • Significant monetary fines,
  • A lifetime of supervised parole upon release in some cases,
  • Psychological treatment as a sex offender,
  • Sex offender registration requirements under Megan’s Law.

Both New Jersey and federal laws that apply in child pornography cases can make it difficult for judges to avoid harsh penalties—even if your charges are based on mistakenly opening a document or file or you’re a family member’s use of the Internet. 

Enhanced Penalties for Child Pornography in New Jersey

Penalties and prison sentences are severe in New Jersey for those convicted of child pornography

New Jersey has extended the first-degree felony for parents to engage in child pornography to guardians and others responsible for a child’s care.

Individuals who have been convicted of distributing more than 25 images of child pornography face a mandatory minimum prison sentence. First offenders face a minimum sentence of 5 years, while repeat offenders face a minimum 10-year sentence.

Any individual in New Jersey who causes or permits the reproduction of child pornography will face an extended prison term for second or subsequent offenses.

No Early Release Act

The No Early Release Act ensures that anyone convicted of having engaged in child pornography may serve a minimum of 85% of their prison sentence. Furthermore, under certain convictions in New Jersey, there is a possibility of mandatory lifetime parole.

Child Pornography as a Federal Crime

Child pornography is not only a state crime in New Jersey. It is also a federal crime. 

Because of the nature and complexity of criminal laws in the United States, you should never try to navigate the complicated waters of both the state and federal child pornography laws without the help of a seasoned lawyer with experience in these areas.

The relevant federal laws addressing child pornography are:

  • 18 U.S.C. § 2251- Sexual Exploitation of Children
  • 18 U.S.C. § 2251A- Selling and Buying of Children
  • 18 U.S.C. § 2252- Certain activities relating to material involving the sexual exploitation of minors
  • 18 U.S.C. § 2252A- Certain activities relating to material constituting or containing child pornography
  • 18 U.S.C. § 2260- Production of sexually explicit depictions of a minor for importation into the United States

About Mount Laurel, New Jersey

Mount Laurel is a township in Burlington County, New Jersey, and is a suburb of Philadelphia. The township’s population is approximately 42,000. Founded in 1872, Mount Laurel was named for a hill covered with laurel trees. Mount Laurel has a total area of 21.99 square miles.

Frequently Asked Questions about Child Pornography Law in Mount Laurel, New Jersey

FAQ: Are there any enhanced punishments that apply to defendants convicted on child pornography charges in New Jersey?

In certain cases, enhanced charges may apply. For example, if a defendant is convicted of distributing at least 25 pieces of child pornography, mandatory minimum prison sentences apply—at least 5 years for first offenders and up to 10 years for repeat offenders. Under the No Early Release Act, defendants convicted on child pornography charges must serve at least 85% of their prison sentences in New Jersey.

FAQ: Are there any real defenses to child pornography charges?

Defenses to child pornography are available, but difficult to establish. In some cases, it may be possible to prove that the individuals in the photos or videos were at least 18 years old. It can also be a defense if you received child pornography, but promptly destroyed it. As with any other criminal investigation or charge, the prosecution and law enforcement are also required to respect all of your constitutional rights. Constitutional violations may be grounds for having evidence dismissed or even the charges against you reduced or dropped.

FAQ: Will I go to jail if I am convicted and it’s my first offense?

This depends upon the degree of crime charged. If convicted for first or second-degree crimes, a presumption of incarceration applies. However, for third-degree offenses relating to possession alone, probation may be available if you have no prior convictions.

Free Case Evaluation

100% Confidential

    Mar

    15

    Don’t Get a DUI This St. Patrick’s Day

    St. Patrick’s Day is just around the corner and soon, many Irish and non-Irish people will head to the local pub to celebrate. Before you join in on the celebrations, it is important to consider what a drunk driving charge […]Read More

    Mar

    5

    NJ Law Would Prevent Cops from Telling Parents About Their Child’s Marijuana Use

    New Jersey made the news when the governor signed into law a bill that bans officers from telling parents when their kids are first busted with weed possession or use. Understanding the New Law On February 22, 2021, the governor […]Read More

    Feb

    23

    The Grass is Greener in the Garden State: NJ Legalized Marijuana

    After years of talking about making marijuana legal in New Jersey, the Garden State finally did it. On Monday, February 22nd, New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy signed three bills into law that will not only decriminalize a certain amount of […]Read More

    Thank you!

    Someone from our office will contact you shortly

    I could not have asked for a better attorney. Michele Finizio treated my cases and the cases of those I've recommended, as if we were part of her family.

    -D.A.