New Jersey Criminal Lawyers: What Happens When You Leave the Scene of an Accident?
You are required by law to remain at the scene of any accident where property damage, injuries, or the possibility of a death has occurred until you have exchanged your information with other parties involved and a police officer. New Jersey mandates that the driver must stop at the scene immediately in a way that does not block traffic. Some drivers flee the scene in these circumstances to avoid trouble. But if someone is injured in the accident, leaving the scene is a fourth degree crime. Even when there is no personal injury, a suspect can expect points on their driving record and an increase in insurance premiums.
A driver convicted for the first time of leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident that results in property damage could face a fine ranging from $200-$400, and up to 30 days in jail. The driver will also be assessed two points by the MVC. For a second offense, fines range from $400-$600 and the potential for 30-90 days in jail. In the case of property damage, it is advisable to pay for the damage to the other person’s vehicle. Leaving the scene of an accident can lead harsher consequences such as the forfeiture of a driver’s license for six months from the date of conviction.
First and foremost, New Jersey law states that the driver of a vehicle involved in an accident resulting in injury or death is required to remain at the scene. The driver will be assessed 8 points by MVC, and fines for this conviction range from $2,500 to $5,000; there is also a possibility of imprisonment for 180 days. In addition, you must forfeit your license for a period of one year from the date of conviction. A second offense will be mandatory as will a permanent forfeit of your license.
Camden Traffic Violation Lawyers at The Law Offices of Michele Finizio Defend Drivers Charged with Leaving the Scene of an Accident in NJ
If you have been charged with leaving the scene of a motor vehicle accident resulting in property damage or personal injury, contact the Law Offices of Michele Finizio right away. Our Camden traffic violation lawyers will aggressively fight to protect you. Our law offices are located in Moorestown, New Jersey, and we serve clients throughout South Jersey. Call 856-599-5519 or contact us online