New Jersey Traffic Lawyer Reports on Changes to NJ Texting and Driving Law
An amendment to a NJ law that affects New Jersey drivers became effective July 1, 2014. The state of New Jersey has amended a current traffic law to address the serious issue of texting and driving. The modified legislation forbids the use of any hand-held electronic device in a car, regardless of whether the vehicle is moving or stopped.
New Jersey traffic lawyer Michele Finizio alerts New Jersey drivers that law enforcement officers will be strictly enforcing the amended texting and driving law. Penalties and fines for texting and driving are more severe under the new law. This includes:
- A person’s first offense under the texting and driving law will incur a fine of $200, an increase of $100 under the new law.
- A second offense charge will result in a $400 fine.
- A N.J. driver who violates the law three or more times will incur a $600 fine. Moreover, the court may suspend the repeat offender’s driver’s license for 90 days and they will be assessed three motor vehicle points.
For more information about texting and driving, contact the experienced New Jersey traffic lawyer, Michele Finizio. Ms. Finizio has extensive experience defending New Jersey drivers who have been charged with traffic violations. Call her Moorestown law offices at (609) 230-0374 or contact us online.