New Jersey takes sexual assault charges very seriously. This is in an attempt to protect those who are the victims of sex crimes. If you were recently charged with sexual assault in New Jersey, continue reading to learn more about the potential consequences you may face.
What Does Sexual Assault in New Jersey Mean?
Some states divide sexual assault and rape into two categories. In New Jersey, however, rape is a type of sexual assault. However, sexual assault may also include other charges, like:
- Sexual contact with a minor
- Sexual contact with physical force or from a person in a position of trust
Aggravated sexual assault refers to non-consensual sexual assault. It may include the following:
- Sexual contact with a victim under 13 years
- Sexual contact with a victim between 13-16 years with a person in a position of trust
- Sexual contact committed during another crime, like kidnapping or robbery
- Sexual contact with the threat of a weapon
- Using force for sexual contact
- Sexual contact with a person who is handicapped or incapable
It is important to note that sexual assault cases are unique, as not all cases will fall into one of these categories. Even so, they may still be charged with sexual assault.
Potential Consequences for Sexual Assault in New Jersey
It is important to know the potential consequences that come with sexual assault charges in New Jersey. The details of the case will determine if the assault charges are first, second, third, or fourth degree. The legal consequences vary significantly based on this. Each of the different degrees carries the following potential consequences:
- First-degree: First-degree sexual assault charges can lead to between 10-20 years in prison and fines up to $200,000.
- Second-degree: Second-degree sexual assault charges can lead to between 5-10 years in prison and fines up to $15,000.
- Third-degree: Third-degree sexual assault charges can lead to between 3-5 years in prison, fines up to $15,000, and between one to five years of probation.
- Fourth-degree: Fourth-degree sexual assault charges can lead to up to 18 months in prison, fines up to $10,000, and between one to five years of probation.
Of course, the details of your case can significantly increase or decrease these potential charges you receive. Many details, like the age of the victim, the details of the charge, and whether or not you have priors, can affect your likely consequences. Additionally, if threats or weapons were present, you may receive a harsher sentence.
Contact a Criminal Defense Lawyer
Your future is at risk if you’re dealing with potential sexual assault charges. The state doesn’t take sexual assault charges lightly. For this reason, you need a lawyer who can collect the evidence available in your case and build your defense. Even if dropping your charges isn’t possible, you may have negotiation options available.
In order to consider your options, you need to reach out to a criminal defense lawyer as soon as possible as they need time to build your case. There may be defenses available for you. Otherwise, you risk potential jail time and permanent registration on the state’s offender list. You may find that a criminal defense lawyer familiar with New Jersey’s criminal department can be a valuable resource as you navigate your potential assault charges.
Contact an Experienced Mount Laurel Criminal Defense Lawyer About Your Sexual Assault Charges in New Jersey
Were you arrested or charged with sexual assault in New Jersey? The consequences of a conviction could be severe, leaving you with a permanent criminal record and possibly even sending you to jail. That is why you need to speak with a qualified criminal defense attorney as soon as possible about your case. The attorneys at the Law Offices of Michele Finizio have successfully represented clients charged with sexual assault in Evesham Township, Mount Laurel, Pemberton, Burlington Township, and throughout New Jersey. Call (609) 230-0374 or fill out the online contact form to schedule a consultation with a member of our legal team. We have an office conveniently located at 9 E. Main St, Moorestown, NJ 08057, as well as an office located in Cherry Hill, NJ.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.
Disorderly conduct consists of any improper behavior such as fighting, threats of violence, or creating a dangerous atmosphere.